History of Square Dancing in Missouri

1976:

The 1976 State Officers elected were: President, Charles & Mildred Elliott (Macon); Vice Presidents, Fran & Eleanor Alderson (Whiteman AFB), Robert & Pat Sandbothe (Jefferson City), Les & Lois Ratcliff (Joplin); Secretary, Lloyd & Peggy Geiger (Boonville); and Treasurer, Bill & Judy Cone (Holts Summit).

The 17th State Festival was held in the St. Louis area at the Florissant Civic Center. The theme was "The Spirit of 76." Festival Chairmen were Ollie & Jackie Brauner and Co-Chairmen, Bob & Evelyn Lindhorst.

This Festival initiated the use of a Teen Room. Gary Shoemake called for the 17th Festival held on October 15 & 16.